What is Agile? What is not Agile?

An unusually hectic work-schedule has been keeping me hopping lately.  I returned this weekend from a great two-week trip to the UK in which I visited with 5 testing teams using our Hexawise tool to design test cases for applications being used in two banks, a consulting and systems integration firm, a grocery store chain, and a telecoms company.

Every product manager worth his or her salt will tell you it is a good idea to go meet with customers, listen to them, and watch them as they use your application.  Even though everyone I know agrees with this, I find it difficult to make happen as regularly as I would like to.  This trip provided me with a reminder of how valuable in-depth customer interactions can be.  The two weeks of on-site visits with testing teams proved to be  great way to: (a) reconnect with customers, (b) get actionable input about what users  like / don’t like about our tool, (c) identify new ways we can continue to refine our tool, and even (d) understand a couple unexpected ways teams are using it.

Bret Petticord’s tweets on “What is Agile?” / “not Agile?” prompted me to write this quick post.  I like them a lot.

When we first created our Hexawise tool, we followed the 4 steps Bret lays out in his description of “What is Agile?”  My experience in the UK over the last two weeks was the start of one of many “Repeat” cycles.

I admire people who can succinctly summarize wisdom into bite-sized quips like Bret achieved with his two tweets.  Another guy who excels at creating sound-bites is James Carville.  Love him or hate him, he has that skill in spades.  When I watched the movie “War Room,” I felt like I was watching the “master of the sound-bite” in his element.  Me?  I’m more of a rambling, meandering, verbose communicator.  I’ve just taken 332 words and a screen shot with Bret’s tweets when all I set out to do in starting to write this post was to share Bret’s 32 words with you.

One thought on “What is Agile? What is not Agile?

  1. These bite-sized definitions sound well but oversimplify things. What’s the purpose of talking with people? Figuring out what’s right. OK, you don’t focus on big design up front and you expect to adjust things as you go but, with enough experience, you do exactly the same in non-agile projects.

    Actually figure out – make it work – adjust – repeat process shouldn’t be (and isn’t) specific for agile approaches only. Of course agile puts accents in different places but still, I remember waterfallish projects where we used exactly the same pattern. And yes, we did it in several informal iterations.

    This is by the way something I write so very often. When someone writes great advice basing on agile approach I’m all “yes, this is great, but it isn’t limited to agile only.” The same is here.

Leave a Reply

